No ground wire for new bathroom fan.

Hey guys, my house is an older home.

 
 
 
 

I removed a bathroom ceiling light and replaced it with a fan/light combo. The old light was only connected by black and white wires, inside a junction box with no ground.

 
 
 
 

Removed the box, installed the new fan housing to the joist and ran wires into fan housing box.

 
 
 
 

Now I know to connect the black to black and white to white but where do I run my ground wire to?

 
 
 
 

Can I self tap it into the fan housing box itself? Or do I even need to ground it to anything since no one will ever touch the fan itself, only the light switch on the wall to control it.

 
 
 
 

Thanks!

 
 

David

Standard

Leave a Reply

